Hello Kitty Cafe

Taipei is home to numerous themed establishments, including Hello Kitty and (until recently) Barbie cafes, and Modern Toilet, a restaurant where your meals are served in toilets and urinals. Fun, right? I’d always heard that the Hello Kitty and Barbie cafes are overpriced and have bad food, and frankly, I have no desire to eat out of a toilet. But, on my last Saturday in Taipei, a friend and I decided to have lunch at the Hello Kitty cafe. We reasoned that this would be a one-time thing for both of us, and we would be able to say we’d done it.

It did not disappoint. Everything was as advertised.

IMG_3910

The food and drinks are expensive ($200-500NT for meals and cakes, which is about $6-18 USD. This is exorbitant by my Taipei standards). Our food was not awful, but not wonderful. It was pretty much what you’d expect from a burger with a bun that looks like a cartoon cat head. You’re mainly paying for Hello Kitty’s face, which is stamped, powdered, embossed in chocolate, and fried onto everything you eat.

A poor example, as this one is a bit disfigured.
Hello Kitty on a dinner roll. A poor example, as this one is a bit disfigured.

Also, if you couldn’t already tell, everything is pink, including the food and drinks.

IMG_3919

Overall, it was ridiculous. I’m still glad I went, absurdity and expense aside. It’s a popular part of Taiwanese culture, and now I can say I’ve been there and eaten that.

IMG_3915

IMG_3920

IMG_3912

IMG_3916

Leave a comment